Contact Us

Dennett House, 11 Middle Street
Taunton, Somerset, TA1 1SH

Tel: 01823 270101                     Find Us
Fax: 01823 425200
Email: info@swcouncils.gov.uk


Epaycheck: National Pay Benchmarking Service

 Epaycheck is the national online pay benchmarking service developed for local government by local government.  It enables participating councils to share and compare pay and reward data for all Chief Officer roles and a range of other job families of sector-wide interest.  

Focused reports are produced periodically using data from Epaycheck.  These reports are available at no additional cost to authorities subscribing to the service, the annual subscription fee for which is currently a modest £200. 

Epaycheck Data Report
In September 2018 a report has been published entitled ‘Planning Roles: Pay, recruitment and retention’, responding to ongoing concerns about difficulty in recruiting and retaining planners. The report identifies variation in pay across the regions, explores recruitment and retention ratings and provides trend data on pay increases over recent years. 

We hope that this report demonstrates the value, quantity and depth of the data available on Epaycheck.  Users in subscribing organisations can also log in to Epaycheck to access all the information in ‘real time’, including new pre-set public reports providing full data on each job family at the touch of a button. 

For further information on the Epaycheck system please click here.  For any queries about the report or any aspect of Epaycheck, please contact your Regional Administrator, michele.evans@swcouncils.gov.uk.


Employers' Panel Membership

Chair   Cllr Harvey Siggs 

Cllr Harvey Siggs (Conservative)
Mendip District Council


Vice Chairs 

Liberal Democrat Vice-Chair to be confirmed

Conservative Vice Chair to be confirmed 

Cllr Mandy Chilcott - West Somerset Council
Cllr Jeff Cant- Weymouth and Portland Borough Council
Cllr Graham Carr-Jones - North Dorset District Council
Cllr Mike Dean- Tewkesbury Borough Council
Cllr Anne Filer - Bournemouth Borough Council
Cllr David A Flagg - Christchurch Borough Council
Cllr Spencer Flower - East Dorset District Council
Cllr Anna Groskop - Somerset County Council
Cllr May Haines - Borough of Poole Council
Cllr Mrs Brenda Hull - Mid Devon District Council
Cllr Paul James - Gloucester City Council
Cllr Paul May - Bath and North East Somerset Council
Cllr Duncan McGinty - Sedgemoor District Council
Cllr Derek Mills - Torbay Council
Cllr Richard Parrish - Taunton Deane Borough Council
Cllr David Pasley - North Somerset Council
Cllr Barry Parsons - Devon County Council
Cllr Brian Robinson- Forest of Dean District Council
Cllr Philip Sanders - West Devon Borough Council
Cllr Gary Suttle - Purbeck District Council
Cllr Lynden Stowe - Cotswold District Council
Cllr Alan Thacker - West Dorset District Council
Cllr Ray Theodeolou - Gloucestershire County Council
Cllr Anthony Trollope-Bellew - West Somerset District Council
Cllr John Tucker - South Hams District Council
Cllr Phil Twiss - East Devon District Council
Cllr Mike Walters - Teignbridge District Council
Cllr Peter Wharf - Dorset County Council
Cllr Jane Whittaker - Torridge District Council
Cllr Keith Williams - Swindon Borough Council
Cllr Colin Winder- South Somerset District Council
Cllr Jeremy Yabsley - North Devon District Council

Liberal Democrats
Cllr Adam Paynter - Cornwall Council
Cllr Alex Hegenbarth- Cheltenham Borough Council

Cllr Craig Cheney- Bristol City Council
Cllr Pete Edwards - Exeter City Council
Cllr Steve Lydon- Stroud District Council
Cllr Peter Smith - Plymouth City Council 

Cllr Ted Moulson- Council of the Isles of Scilly

Fire Authorities
Cllr Celia Phipps - Avon Fire Authority